Wedding Style: Something Blue

For my extended family, this past year has been filled with weddings! First, my cousin, then my aunt, followed by my sister (for whom I had the honor of being a bridesmaid) and most recently, another cousin. With all these joyous family events, it is important to always look fabulous while celebrating the newlyweds.

This past weekend, my cousin Mark married Ginny in Minneapolis, MN. Both the ceremony and reception were wonderful and the bride looked beautiful. As a guest, I chose to wear one of the seasons newest trends- a dress with a tea length lace overlay. Celebrities, such as Bella Thorne and Miranda Kerr, have been spotted wearing similar ensembles. The nude sheath coupled with a longer, lace overlay makes the piece seem more elegant, while still light and summery.

Mary Kate Donahue, 2016

Absolutely Fabulous Beige and Blue Midi Dress from Lulus, $69

Purchased from Lulus, this blue lace frock was beyond perfect for a cool, July 16 wedding. Paired with Vince Camuto Kamella Leather Strappy Open-Toed Sandals in tan (no longer available) and a nude envelope clutch (borrowed from my sister), the dress certainly was the focus of my outfit. In addition, I wore a simple monogram necklace, Sheila Fajl Everybody’s Favorite Hoops (on sale right now at Bijou Eliene), a gold cuff and two gold bangles on the other wrist. Once my shoes came off, the dress was perfect to dance away the night!

Shop the look with some of these similar dresses from Goodnight Macaroon,  Lulus, Asos, Bloomingdales and Nordstrom. Cheers to wedding season!

Leave a Reply

