Creating with Crayola

Searching for inspiration for my next project, I stumbled upon Bloomingdale’s display of garments made from Crayola crayons. Designers ranging from Nanette Lepore to Rebecca Minkoff used these childhood coloring tool to create beautiful, monochromatic looks. After realizing the amount of crayons I would need for a full-blown crayon garment, I decided to use them only the bodice. Sifting through the studio and old crafts, I was able to find plenty of blue crayons, in a series of shades.

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

After sewing a simple, strapless bodice and a full skirt from navy blue satin, I began to attach a myriad of blue crayons onto the gown. With only a few hot glue burns, I created the crayon dress, more formally know as “Color Me Blue.”

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

  On an exciting note, I was pleased to find out that this gown received recognition in my school’s art show. First place in the 3-D portion, the crayon dress has proven to be a favorite of many. Who knows what my next project in the studio will be!!

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

One thought on “Creating with Crayola

Leave a Reply

