A Million Dresses In One

My latest creation shouldn’t just be within the pages of Vogue, but it’s made of the pages from Vogue! A dear friend of mine asked if I would be willing to make a dress for her to wear to our winter formal. After brainstorming, we decided to craft the garment our of Vogue magazines! Although this project posed many difficulties and was extremely time-consuming, it was so worth it.

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

I began by sewing a simple strapless, A-line dress out of a sturdy cotton. Then, I spent hours upon hours cutting models, designers, shoes, bags, and more out of the pages of Vogue. I carefully decoupaged the pieces on the bodice, and then arranged the millions of models on the skirt of the dress. To complete the look, I crafted a belt with notable designers’ names covering it.

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

After making several alterations and perfected the unique creation, Catherine Mary wore the fabulous dress to our winter formal! Pairing the bold garment with a chunky diamond necklace and red pumps completed her look. In many ways, last night was my debut as “designer” for MKDesigns (a company name I created for my Portfolio Development class). Catherine Mary received an unprecedented amount of compliments for her ensemble, and I was unbelievably proud to hear her say “I’m wearing Mary Kate Donahue.”

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

Hopefully, Anna Wintour would approve.

Leave a Reply

