New Year, New Me: Going Naked

2015 is all about going Naked…as in the cosmetic product! My birthday (January 8) comes as at the start of the year, which extends my Christmas and holiday celebrations. Now as a legal adult (yes, I bought a lottery ticket), I decided it is finally time to ditch the cheap Wet ‘n Wild eyeshadow for a more sophisticated option. Therefore, I opened a beautiful Naked 2 palette on my birthday and I am a convert to well-made, expensive cosmetic products.

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

Unable to decide between Naked, Naked 2 or Naked 3, I told my mother to purchase whatever was available. Thankfully, the saleswoman at Sephora asked my mother about my complexion and hair color in order to find the best-fit palette. All I can say is this saleswoman certainly knew anything and everything about the Naked palettes. The Naked 2 palette is beyond perfect for my extremely fair, freckled complexion and strawberry-blonde/auburn hair. The palette includes twelve shades; Foxy, Half Baked, Bootycall, Chopper, Tease, Snakebite, Suspect, Pistol, Verve, Busted and Blackout.

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

In addition to my new “big-girl” make-up, I also received more mature cosmetic storage. The acrylic storage from the Container Store comes in all shapes, sizes, and configurations. I now have two stackable drawers and an open make-up organizer atop the drawers. Along with the new storage, I decided I had to purge myself of my old cosmetics. Why was I holding on to silver liquid eyeliner and practically empty foundation bottles?!

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2015

After cleaning out, organizing and using my new Naked product, I feel as though I am certainly ready for adulthood…maybe.

Leave a Reply

