In The Kitchen

Fresh peaches, a slice of juicy watermelon, fresh caught fish, grilled corn on the cob. If you’re moth wasn’t watering after my first sentence, then there’s something wrong with you! In my opinion, food is so much better in the summer. Everything is fresh and locally grown, you can use your grill 24/7, and you probably have more time on your hands to be adventurous with your cuisine!

Being a naturally healthy eater, I find eating in the summer so enjoyable. I much prefer a juicy tomato topped with mozzarella and basil to a heaping spoonful of frozen peas! Although I wish summer could last forever, seize the months you have and enjoy the local produce that is so readily available. You’ll be missing it in January!

As much as I love fresh fruits and vegetables, it is summer…and that means you need something to keep you cool. Ice cream, duh! I don’t know about you, but ice cream tastes much better when it’s dripping down your chin and you’re enjoying it with family and friends than when you’re eating it out of the container by the fire in your pajamas!

Some eat to live and others live to eat. I am most definitely the latter, and I have no doubt about that. I absolutely love being in the kitchen- cooking, baking, experimenting and having fun with the food that will nourish your body.

Enjoy these snapshots of some of my favorite meals so far this summer!

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Image

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Leave a Reply

