Overdressed and Underpaid

I’m fortunate enough to escape from my home and the craziness of Washington, DC and its surrounding Maryland suburbs during the summer months. My family vacations in a quaint beach town in Delaware, which is mostly inhabited from May until October.

This summer, while living on the coast, I decided to get a job to keep myself busy and fund my online shopping expeditions! So, I’m  a hostess at a bistro down the street from my beach house. It’s a fabulous job and it has so many perks- I get to wear my own clothing, I don’t have to stay late, and the list goes on. Because hostessing simply entails no more than showing guests to their tables, I make minimum wage.

I have no problems with my salary, but because of my fashionable tendencies my family has nicknamed me “The Best-Dressed, Minimum-Wage Worker in the State of Delaware.” Who knows- maybe it’s true! My hero Lilly Pulitzer taught me that “life is a party, dress like it.” Why not take the party into the workplace!!! You always have to dress to impress! I mean, come on, your future husband could be waiting just around the corner!

Some of my favorite work ensembles:

Screen Shot 2013-07-11 at 12.12.41 AM

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-07-11 at 12.12.32 AM

© Mary Kate Donahue, 2013

 

P.S. My only fashion pet-peeve about my job is that I have to wear closed-toed shoes! Otherwise, every single one of these outfits would be worn with an adorable pair of Jack Rogers!!

Leave a Reply

