Monograms on Monograms!

If you knew me in person, one thing that would always signify “Mary Kate” is her monogram. I have my monogram everywhere- from my bedding to my bathing suits and beyond!

The beautiful and poised Reese Witherspoon once said, “My rule is, if it’s not moving- monogram it!” These words are my absolute favorite and I live by them each and every day. It’s a rarity for me to leave the house wearing or carrying an item without a monogram.

Some ask me why I love monograms so much. They say, “Why are you so obsessed with your initials?” or “Do you forget your name or something?” To answer their questions is hard. I don’t quite have a concrete answer to why I adore monograms other than the fact that I think they are adorable. Monograms add flare to a dull baseball hat or backpack.

From script to block and the wide assortment of thread choices, monograms can make decision making seem like an impossible feat. I, myself, am a TERRIBLE decision maker (I can barely decide on what I want to eat for breakfast most mornings). Choosing “the perfect monogram” for any given items is sometimes the hardest decision of my day.

As you can see from my rambling about a mere three letter insignia, I find joy in something as small as seeing MY initials on my iPhone case. Those three letters are MINE. And I love that!! Monograms are so unique and personal (which also means your sister can’t steal all your clothing)!

From now on, don’t be surprised if you see a ridiculous amount of posts dedicated to monograms! Trust me, I will NEVER run out of monogram items to feature on Confessions of a Preppy Fashionista. So get ready, because you’ll be seeing a lot of this…

Screen Shot 2013-06-28 at 12.02.50 AM

Leave a Reply

